Thanks to All Who Attended the Society for Community Research and Action (SCRA) Biennial Conference!

panel400 Yvonne

Participants in the conference held at the University of Ottawa enjoyed a wide
variety of 
presentations and networking opportunities (along with beautiful weather 
and scenery)! 
View photos and the conference program, listen to podcasts, and 
access presentations on 
our conference page.

Issue 87(4) now available! 

The moderating role of relationship skills education on depressive symptoms in fathers with young children. Roopnarine, Jaipaul L.; Dede Yildirim, Elif.
Associations between school violence, military connection, and gang membership in California secondary schools. Estrada Jr., Joey Nuñez; Gilreath, Tamika D.; Sanchez, Cathia Y.; Astor, Ron Avi.
Examining the effects of emotional and cognitive desensitization to community violence exposure in male adolescents of color. Gaylord-Harden, Noni K.; So, Suzanna; Bai, Grace J.; Tolan, Patrick H.
Social Innovations
Boys do(n’t) cry: Addressing the unmet mental health needs of African American boys. Lindsey, Michael A.; Brown, Danica R.; Cunningham, Michael.
What is going on in African American communities that there is a lack of safe spaces for boys to express their emotions and to share their travails with supportive networks in lieu of ending their lives? Topics discussed include (1) untreated depression among African American youth; (2) looking deeper at the reasons for untreated depression; (3) misunderstanding and denial of mental health challenges; (4) risk factors in schools; (5) harsh discipline practices; (6) low teacher expectations; and (7) disconnection from adults.
Physical family violence and externalizing and internalizing behaviors among children and adolescents. Renner, Lynette M.; Boel-Studt, Shamra.
Access all the articles in this issue of AJO.




Update from the Global Alliance-Sponsored Forum on Promoting Children's Cognitive, Affective and Behavioral Health 

NEW! The summary of the workshop on Training the Future Child Health Care Workforce to Improve Behavioral Health Outcomes for Children, Youth, and Families is now available: